What is the status of this saying attributed to Sayyiduna ‘Umar (radiyallahu ‘anhu) which is being shared by many people?

‘Umar Ibnul Khattab (radiyallahu ‘anhu) said:

“There are four types of oceans:

(1) Passion is the ocean of sins,

(2) The nafs is the ocean of desires,

(3) Death is the ocean of lives,

(4) The grave is the ocean of regrets.”



I have not come across this statement of Sayyiduna ‘Umar ibnul Khattab (radiyallahu ‘anhu) in any primary source.


Abu ‘Abdillah; Muhammad ibn Muhammad Al Mambiji (Demise: 785 A.H) has cited a similar narration as the statement of an unnamed wise person. The narration should be quoted as such.

(Tasliyatu Ahlil Masaib, pg. 193)


And Allah Ta’ala Knows best.


Answered by: Moulana Suhail Motala


Approved by: Moulana Muhammad Abasoomar



التخريج من المصادر العربية

تسلية أهل المصائب: (ص: ١٩٣)
وقال بعض الحكماء: أربعة أبحر لأربع: الموت بحر الحياة، والنفس بحر الشهوات، والقبر بحر الندامات، وعفو الله بحر الخطيئات، فنسأل الله العظيم أن يجعل الله القبر خير بيت نعمره ونسكنه!