As I understand, in order for a Hadith work to be classified as a Jami’, it must contain 8 topics.


1. Aqaid, 2. Ahkam, 3. Tarikh/Siyar, 4. Tafseer, 5. Manaqib, 6. Adaab, 7. Fitan.

My question is regarding the eighth topic. Some say it is Ashratus sa’ah, and others say Riqaq.

My understanding is that Ashratus sa’ah is included within Fitan thus making Riqaq the eight topic. However, due to some scholar not mentioning riqaq, and seperating fitan from ashratus sa’ah, I wanted to get some information regarding it.

JazakAllah Khayr.



Your understanding is correct.

However, sometimes certain authors cite more than 8 for the purpose of further clarity. Therefore you may find that some mention Tarikh and Sirah separately, or Manaqib as well as Mathalib (opposite of manaqib). This is mere elaboration, and not any sort of contradiction.

(Ar-Risalatul Mustatrafah, pg.42, Al-Kanzul Mutawari, vol.1 pg.223)



And Allah Ta’ala Knows best,


Answered by: Moulana Muhammad Abasoomar


Checked by: Moulana Haroon Abasoomar