Being a martyr can be through different forms , for example; passing away in an accident, passing away through an illness, passing away fighting for your deen etc.

Is the reward different for the martyrs? In short, are their rewards according to their ranks, or what?


As you have mentioned, there are indeed several ways to attain the reward of a martyr.

The following hadiths points to the fact that there are many ranks reserved for the martyrs and not just one single rank for all.


1. Sayyiduna Abu Hurayrah (radiyallahu’anhu) reports that Rasulullah (sallallahu’alayhi wasalalm) said:

Indeed there are a hundred ranks in Jannah that Allah has prepared for those who strive in his way…

(Sahih Bukhari, hadith: 2790, Chapter of the ranks of those who strive in Allah’s way)

2. Sayyiduna Sahl ibn Hunayf (radiyallahu’anhu) reports that Rasulullah (sallallahu’alayhi wasallam) said:

Whoever sincerely asks Allah Ta’ala for martyrdom, will be included in the ranks of the Martyrs, even if he dies on his bed.

(Sahih Muslim, hadith: 4907)

The word used in these hadiths is: “ranks” of the martyrs.

This proves that there are many ranks that are reserved for the martyrs and not just one rank for all.

‘Allamah Munawi (rahimahullah) – a renowned commentator of hadith- writes: “Undoubtedly, the reward/rank of the one who was physically killed in battle will be more than the one who attains the rank of martyrdom through his intention only. The additional deeds (and sacrifice) of the former will contribute to his additional reward and rank.”

(Faidul Qadir, hadith: 8727)


Based on the above, we understand that the ranks of the different types of martyrs vary from one to another, based on their sacrifice and other deeds.


And Allah Ta’ala Knows best,


Answered by: Moulana Muhammad Abasoomar


Checked by: Moulana Haroon Abasoomar